• Loading KStateSports Tweets...
    1 second ago
Sproles named to Walter Camp Player of the Year watch list



MANHATTAN, Kan. The preseason accolades continue to roll in for Kansas State senior running back Darren Sproles.


Touted as one of the nation’s leading contenders for the Heisman Trophy and a member of the preseason watch list for the Maxwell Award, the 2004 preseason Big 12 Offensive Player of the Year received word late Thursday that he has been named one of 40 “players to watch” for the prestigious Walter Camp Football Foundation Player of the Year Award.


Sproles, who rushed for a school single-season record and nation-leading 1,986 yards en route to first team All-America honors from both The Associated Press and Sports Illustrated as a junior, was one 13 running backs named to the team. A quarter of the players (10), including Sproles, hail from the Big 12.


Kansas State's career rushing leader with 3,661 yards, Sproles finished fifth in voting for the 2003 Heisman Trophy. He was also the runner-up in voting for the Doak Walker award, annually presented to the nation's top running back, and placed third in voting for AP player of the year.


The watch list will be narrowed to 10 semi-finalists in early November. The 2004 Walter Camp Player of the Year recipient, which is voted on by the 117 Division I-A head coaches and sports information directors, will be announced on the ESPN/Home Depot College Football Awards Show in December. The winner will then receive the trophy at the Foundation's annual national awards banquet on Feb. 13, 2005 at the Yale University Commons in New Haven.


2004 Walter Camp Player of the Year "Watch List"

Darren Sproles, RB, Kansas State

Marion Barber III, RB, Minnesota

Cedric Bensen, RB, Texas

Josh Bullocks, LB, Nebraska

Timmy Chang, QB, Hawaii

Patrick Cobbs, RB, North Texas

Dan Cody, DE, Oklahoma

Mark Clayton, WR, Oklahoma

P.J. Daniels, RB, Georgia Tech

Anthony Davis, RB, Wisconsin

Braylon Edwards, WR, Michigan

David Greene, QB, Georgia

Matt Grotegoed, LB, USC

Tramain Hall, RB, North Carolina State

A.J. Hawk, LB, Ohio State

Matt Herian, TE, Nebraska

Derrick Johnson, LB, Texas

Kevin Kolb, QB, Houston

Chris Leak, QB, Florida

Matt Leinart, QB, USC

Jermelle Lewis, RB, Iowa

Geoff McArthur, WR, California

DonTrell Moore, RB, New Mexico

Lance Moore, WR, Toledo

Dan Orlovsky, QB, Connecticut

Kyle Orton, QB, Purdue

David Pollack, DE, Georgia

Walter Reyes, RB, Syracuse

Chris Rix, QB, Florida State

Aaron Rodgers, QB, California

Antrel Rolle, DB, Miami (Fla.)

Brad Smith, QB, Missouri

Justin Vincent, RB, LSU

Andrew Walter, QB, Arizona State

Corey Webster, DB, LSU

Jason White, QB, Oklahoma

Charlie Whitehurst, QB, Clemson

DeAngelo Williams, RB, Memphis

Carnell Williams, RB, Auburn

Vincent Young, QB, Texas